This ain’t no rice-a-roni…Risotto Tonight

19 Apr

I know I’ve posted before about my love of risotto. I make it a lot when Ryan is out of town. This is because I prefer it with seafood and he’s not a huge seafood guy. In Venice, where risotto is famous, it is always flavored with seafood. Maybe that’s why I like seafood when I make this creamy rice dish. But I digress…

Risotto is a rich creamy dish that doesn’t have any cream in it. It is the starch in the Arborio rice that releases into the stock that creates the texture. When I make risotto I call it the zen of risotto. It’s a finicky thing to make this dish. You have to constantly stir the rice in order to get the right creaminess. If you don’t stir enough, the rice will not release the starch correctly and you’ll wind up with rice soup. Here’s the recipe:

Risotto with greens and shrimp

6 medium shrimp, peeled, deveined and cooked
1/3 cup arborio rice
2 cups chicken or seafood stock
2 cups arugula, chopped
3/4 cups asparagus, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped
3 small cloves garlic
1/4 cup pecorino romano, grated
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Add the oil to a hot pan and then add in the garlic. Let the garlic cook until you can smell it. Then add the rice and stir to coat each grain with the oil. Add in a 1/4 cup of the stock and stir. Continue to stir the rice, adding in the remaining stock in 2 oz intervals. Only add the next addition after the previous has been absorbed by the rice. When the rice is tender and there is no more stock remaining, add in the greens, lemon zest and juice. Stir to combine. Plate according to the picture and garnish with chopped parsley.

Always thinking of the next meal

-Katie

One Response to “This ain’t no rice-a-roni…Risotto Tonight”

  1. Diane April 20, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I love to order risotto out in some restaurants we go to. I have made it before, I think I was with you and your Mom at Whole Foods and bought the rice. I think I get intimidated by making it…..will have to try some more when we get back to Buffalo. I will call or email you if I have problems……keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

