Starbucks Cinnamon Chip Scones

11 Feb

I love the cinnamon chip scones at Starbucks. I was looking around the web and all of the recreations were just missing the mark. None of them even came close to looking like the ones at Starbucks. Although some of the recipes that were posted elsewhere seemed to be decent recipes, just not the ones I was looking for.

It was up to me to figure this out on my own. Here’s what I came up with…

Starbucks Cinnamon Chip Scones

2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of allspice
1 stick of butter, cut into small pieces
3/4 cup cinnamon chips
1/2-3/4 skim milk
1 egg, for egg wash

for glaze: 1 cup powdered sugar and 1 tablespoon water

sift together the dry ingredients and work the butter in until the mixture resembles cornmeal. Add in the chips and toss together. Slowly add the milk until the dough just comes together. Roll the dough out into a square that is approximately 1 inch thick. Cut into triangles and brush with egg wash. Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Let scones cool completely and then drizzle with glaze.

These are pretty close to the ones at Starbucks. They are a little less dense, but not disagreeable. I think next time I’ll try buttermilk instead of skim milk and see how it comes out.

Always thinking of the next meal

-Katie

5 Responses to “Starbucks Cinnamon Chip Scones”

  1. Emily February 11, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    These look delicious!!! Definitely stealing this recipe!!!

  2. Diane Grant February 11, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    Oh these sound so good, an I suppose you could add different flavored chips too, can’t wait to try these…..

  3. Brooklyn February 20, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    These look absolutely delicious! Great idea-my family LOVES starbucks. I think I may try baking in some apple chunks and make it cinnamon-apple!

  4. Cindy March 24, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    I just finished making these and they were wonderful!!!! I didn’t have the cinnamon chips so I substituted it with a teaspoon of regular cinnamon and I made it with milk with vinegar ( 1 cup milk, 1 Teaspoon of vinegar- mix it really well and let it sit for a few minutes while I do the rest). I used 3/4 of the milk so I ended up making a second recipe!! my kids love it!! I don’t have to go to Starbuck’s anymore… Thank you so much!!! this is a great recipe for the ones that have egg allergies.. i did an egg wash with water for a few of the scones so that my egg allergy child can enjoy them. Thanks again!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Pinterest Challenge – Week 9 « This Wonderful Life - May 6, 2012

    […] onyourplatecatering.wordpress.com via Kristin on […]

Leave a Reply

