Cheery Chai Cupcakes

27 Jan

My brother is getting married. It’s a very exciting time for the whole family. Next weekend is the engagement party, and I’ve been asked to bring a cake. I asked my brother and his fiancé what kind of cake they would like, but they both answered one that tastes good. Hmmm… now to narrow it down.

I know my brother’s fiancé, Heather, loves chai. Just like I am an avid coffee drinker, she is an avid chai drinker. In chatting about next weekend’s festivities I suggested a chai cake. At first she wasn’t sure. Would everyone like a chai cake? Well, I proposed a taste test. I would make a cupcake version to see if the recipe worked and if the flavors would please everyone.

So the picture is the result of said experiment. Not only were the cupcakes adorable, but they taste great! They are spicy and sweet, similar to a gingerbread but with a sweet tea finish.

Heather’s still at work so I don’t have a verdict yet but I’ll keep you updated 🙂

Here’s the recipe:

Chai Spice Cupcakes

Makes 12 cupcakes

1 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 packet instant vanilla chai
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
4 ounces (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed dark-brown sugar
1/8 cup sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
3/8 cup skim milk

In a small bowl,  sift the dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl cream together the sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs 1 at a time until fully incorporated. Add in the dry ingredients in 3 stages alternating with the milk.

Fill paper cupcake cups 3/4 of the way full and bake at 325 fro 25 minutes. Cool completely before frosting.

For frosting:
1 stick unsalted butter
1/4 cup cream cheese
3 cups powdered sugar
1 packet instant chai
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon allspice

These are a unique twist on a traditional favorite. I hope they are a hit at the party!

Always thinking of the next meal (even if that meal is dessert)

-Katie

Leave a Reply

