Holiday Cookie Prep

30 Nov

This year, for the first time, I’m making Holiday cookies for more than just my family. This year I’m making them to order. All the trays will have the same cookies so I need to carefully select cookies that can be made in mass amounts and ones that will stay fresh for more than a few days. Right now, I’ll be making 7 trays, but hopefully that number will be going up.

Last year’s trays included, snowflake sugar cookies, chocolate chip, peanut butter, piped butter cookies, chocolate covered pretzels, and peppermint bark. Although, the selection was small, the trays were a big hit. This year I’d like to go a little bigger.

If you’ve been reading this blog on a regular basis, you know that I like to plan things. The cookie trays are one of my favorite things to plan. I search through my books and look online for the best looking recipes, both traditional and innovative. Sometimes I come up with my own, and I’ve even been known to add some handmade candies into the mix.

So far I have a running list that will eventually be cut down. Updates will follow, but so far I’ll be making: Peppermint bark, chocolate chip cookies, snowflake sugar cookies, chocolate covered pretzels, butter cookies and chewy gingerbread cookies. I do have some other favorite, like Mexican wedding cookies, lemon polenta cookies, chocolate sandwich cookies, and handmade truffles but we will see what I have time to make.

I’ll keep editing the list and if you see anything that looks good, let me know!

Always thinking of the next meal

-Katie

One Response to “Holiday Cookie Prep”

  1. Catering Glasgow December 8, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    Looks lovely. I am going to get some of the chefs prepare it and see if it tastes as good as it looks.

Leave a Reply

