I Heart Salmon

5 Nov

It’s official, I love salmon. For a long time I avoided making it at home. I’m not really sure why, I mean it’s flavorful, easy to cook and easy to make a meal with. You can flavor it with anything and it’s even good as left overs (if there are any.) The other big bonus of salmon is that it freezes will, so you can buy frozen filets and save some moo-lah.

My favorite way to prepare salmon is to pan sear it. Simply defrost the frozen filet in the refrigerator. Heat a sauté pan and add in a little oil. Pat the filet dry and season with salt and pepper. When the pan is hot, gently put the fish in the pan. Cook the fish for 2-3 minutes on each side. Remove from the pan and serve. Your fish should be a beautiful medium rare to medium depending on the thickness. I think this is the perfect temperature to eat salmon. If you cook it any more and the fish flavor gets a little muddled.

Sure you can bake, grill, or poach salmon, but there something that I just love about that GBD (golden brown and delicious) crust that forms on a perfectly seared salmon filet.

Tonight I served myself my seared salmon with horseradish cauliflower purée. I think that cauliflower is a truly underestimated vegetable. Condemned to the bag of frozen mixed vegetables, it’s frequently pushed aside as an “ew” vegetable. But the fresh kind, is delightful with a slightly spicy and crisp flavor. My purée takes the place of mashed potatoes. The overall benefit of the swap is simple. A vegetable instead of a starch, fantastic.

Here’s the recipe:

Cauliflower Horseradish Purée

1 head cauliflower, cut into 1 inch pieces and blanched
1 tablespoon prepared horseradish
1 cup skim milk
1/4 cup parmesan cheese, grated
salt and pepper to taste.

Purée the cauliflower with the milk. Stir in the horseradish and cheese. Season to taste and serve hot.

The purée can be served with any protein, but sings with salmon or steak. Give it a try. I apologize for the missing pictures, but it was so good I forgot to snap a picture before I ate it 🙂

Always thinking of the next meal

-Katie

Leave a Reply

