Plum Perfect

11 Oct

IMG_0861Plums are hitting the peak of their season. Late summer and early fall produce sweet, spicy plums that yield beautifully fulfilling flavors. I think that plums can be easily overlooked as an ingredient. Sure plenty of people eat plums out of hand, and eat them dried as prunes, but there are far fewer recipes that include plums when compared to say apples or peaches.

At work one day they were giving out plums for free. Being that free just happens to be one of my favorite words,IMG_0863 I couldn’t resist. I grabbed a few without knowing how I was going to use them. When I got home I looked through a few of my cookbooks only to be disappointed with average sounding recipes for plum, raspberry tarts and plum preserves. So I looked online and found a recipe for plum tatin by Ina Garten. I brought it to my aunt’s house on Thursday and it was a huge hit. Although everyone had a few reserves about a dense cake with plums, it happily surprised everyone. The cake was sweet but not overwhelming. The plums paired nicely with the additional allspice and cinnamon added into the recipe. Although we didn’t have any, the cake would have been great with a little french vanilla ice cream.

Since I didn’t use all of the plums I took the remaining fruits and quartered them. I tossed them with some avocado honey and gray sea salt. I put them in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I wanted to serve them like that with vanilla yogurt but fate had other plans.

Later in the week I had an urge to bake. Since I had already made the cake I didn’t want to repeat, so this time I made a plum apple crisp. Here’s the recipe:

Plum Apple CrumbleIMG_0873

1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1 stick butter
1 pound apples sliced
1 pound plums, quartered

Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and add in the butter until the mixture looks like cornmeal and holds together. Arrange the fruit in the bottom of a shallow baking dish. Cover with the crumb mixture and bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes or until the top is brown and the fruit is bubbling. If you want, you can let the crumble cool and drizzle with a glaze made with powdered sugar and maple syrup.

Give plums a shot at the spotlight when it comes to dessert.

Always thinking of the next meal

-Katie

Leave a Reply

