If I die a cheesecake related death… this is why

20 Aug

Cheesecake. You hear its delicious name roll off the tongue of your server at the restaurant and instantly you start to fantasize. You imagine the rich, creamy, tangy cheese. Maybe it’s covered in super bright, unnaturally sweet cherries, or maybe it’s teasing you with dark decadent chocolate dripping down the sides. You try to resist, but it’s a guilty pleasure you don’t mind punishing yourself at the gym for later.

Oh yes, this is what dessert can do to us. Why is it that food can have such an emotion hold on us?I think whoever coined the phrase, “the fastest way to a man’s heart is through his stomach” was wrong. The truth is, the fastest way to a man’s heart is with cheesecake. Featured here is a picture of the cheesecake I made yesterday.IMG_0759 Oh yes, I made it. If cheesecake alone wasn’t sinful enough, this one happens to be a creme bruleé cheesecake. Oh don’t thank me. Thank the people at Disney cruise line for putting this recipe in the Disney cookbook. I know, they are evil (in the best way of course.)

I’ve made this cheesecake before. The first time I made it for my friend Luke’s birthday. It was so good, and got such a good reception I tried making it for Thanksgiving. For some reason (a different sized pan a suspect) the cheesecake just did not turn out the same. The outside was perfect, however the middle was runny and uncooked (yuck). But, now that I have baking troubleshooting skills under my cap, this cake turned out beautifully!

It’s a shame that it has to wait until Saturday to be eaten. It sits in my fridge taunting me with its creamy richness. The sugary, crunchy crust calling my name. It’s saying, “Katie…I’m so delicious and you’ve been so good and working so hard, you deserve a piece.” No cheesecake… the anticipation of Saturday will make you taste that much better 🙂

Always thinking of the next meal

-Katie

2 Responses to “If I die a cheesecake related death… this is why”

  1. vampiregran August 22, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    Your cheesecake looks amazing! I love to make cheesecakes and don’t do it often enough. Mostly because we would be hugely fat if I did! I made a cheesecake for a woman who did some yard work for me (in addition to paying her) and she called me later that day and said it was the most wonderful cheesecake she had ever had. You may have inspired me to go home and whip one up. Thanks for the blog!

    • mrsmarquiss August 23, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

      Isn’t that the truth about cheesecake. It seems to fall behind in the usual baked goods… I think the top three at home baked things: 1. brownies 2. cookies 3. biscuits… I’ll stick with cheesecake! Hope yours turned out great!

Leave a Reply

