Dog Treats

29 Jul

I’ve discovered the best recipe in the whole world. Why? Well, it’s simple. It’s for my dog! First of all who loves you more than your dog, and second (and probably more importantly) dogs will eat ANYTHING.

For Christmas 2 years ago our dog Titus gave me a dog treat cookbook. There were a lot of interesting treats like Liver Crunchies and Tuna balls (yum…). I opted for something a little less umm… let’s say smelly. My choice? Applesauce Cheddar Biscuits. Here’s the recipe:

Applesauce Cheddar Biscuits

1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/3 cup applesauce
1/3 cup cold water
1 1/2 whole wheat flour
1/2 cup oatmeal

Preheat oven to 375. Combine the cheddar, applesauce, and water. Add in the flour, and oatmeal and mix to combine. Drop onto greased cookie sheet and press down with the tips of your fingers. Bake for 20 minutes, and cool completely before serving to your pup.

IMG_0709This is a shot of my dog Titus not letting me get a shot of the biscuits. You can take his word (or bark) for it that they are good. Since they are made with all natural ingredients and “normal” food you can actually eat them too. (Although, without salt or sugar I can’t image them being overly amazing.)

I’ve also made garlic treats in the past and Titus liked them to…and the peanut butter ones…alright Titus will pretty much eat anything. But, seeing as he knows when the cheese drawer in the fridge is opening I think these cheddar ones are at the top of the list!

Always thinking of the next meal-

-Katie

Leave a Reply

