Mahjong Party

20 Jul

On Friday I catered my first official event! My aunt and grandma asked me to cater a party for 12 ladies playing Mahjong. The request was that everything was to be eaten with their fingers so they could eat and play, and I was told that the ladies were coming hungry. Because of the origins of the game I choose an Asian themed menu. Here’s what was served:

Crab Rangoon served with Sweet Chili Sauce

Spring Rolls with Peanut Sauce

Asian Nachoes

Crisped wonton skins with chicken, plum sauce, cilantro,

scallions, and fontina cheese

Vegetable tray

snap peas, carrots, cucumbers

Chinese 5 Spice Popcorn

Mahjong Tile Cookies

Carrot Cupcakes

with ginger cream cheese icing

The food took approximately 7 hours to prepare. Each item I chose required a lot of prep and steps. In retrospect, tackling cut and frosted sugar cookies, cupcakes with icing, and spring rolls, all made from scratch (no boxes used here) was a little ambitious. But this was a great lesson. Knowing that my time was only constrained by the arrival of the guest, I was able to accomplish a more than if I had less time. The timing issue (if you can even call it an issue) will now be taken into account before I develop the menu.

So the bottom line? How was the food? Well, it received the best praise any cook could ask for… there was almost nothing left. The favorite was the crab rangoon, a wonton wrapper filled with a crab and cream cheese and dipped in a sweet chili sauce. The next favorite was the Asian Nachos. Toasted wonton skins topped with hoisin glazed chicken breast, fontina cheese, cilantro, and plum sauce. A fun fusion of the comfort and adventure.

Spring Rolls

Spring Rolls

Crab Rangoon

Crab Rangoon

Dessert can obviously not go overlooked. Between the cookies and the cupcakes the cookies were the overwhelming favorite. The Chinese lettering proved to be a little bit of a challenge for me, but I think that they turned out great in the end. Below are the event pictures. I’d love to cook for the Mahjong gals again. And hopefully they will be booking another party with me soon.

Carrot Cupcakes with Ginger Cream Cheese Icing

Carrot Cupcakes with Ginger Cream Cheese Icing

Sugar Cookies with Royal Icing

Sugar Cookies with Royal Icing

Always thinking of the next meal

-Katie

5 Responses to “Mahjong Party”

  1. Maron Bielovitz July 21, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    I was one of the lucky ladies that attended the Mah Jongg “feast” and I must say that Katie is one talented chef!! Kudos on the menu and the imagination that went into making this a special night for all!

  2. Bonnie Gogolski July 21, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

    I was also at the Mah Jongg Asian eating event and enjoyed all the tasty dishes prepared for us. Katie, you are indeed a talented chef and a sweet lady too! Thanks again for a most enjoyable evening.

  3. Cathy Strackbein July 30, 2009 at 12:40 am #

    I also had the pleasure of attending the Mah Jonng feast. Katie is certainly an accomplished chef. Her presentation and menu selection was outstanding as was the food it self. Thanks Katie for making our Mah Jonng group feel so special.

    • mrsmarquiss July 30, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

      Thanks Cathy! Anytime you want me to do it again, just let me know!

  4. Maron Bielovitz July 30, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

    Katie,
    Your link is up and running on my blog at theartfulcodger.wordpress.com Hope it brings some very deserved business your way!!
    Maron

Leave a Reply

