Just beet it…

12 Jul

So lately some of my neighbors have been asking me for culinary advice. Most recently my neighbor asked me for the best way to cook beets. I responded by asking her if she had ever cooked them before (knowing that at times she just wants to just double check herself.) She said no. I told her that I get the best results when I roast them. She said they we medium sized red beets, so I recommended a simple drizzle of oil, and salt and pepper. I said to wrap them in foil and cook in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes to one hour. I said that she would know when they were done when they were easily pierced by a fork (i.e. fork tender.) Once they were cool enough to handle I said to peel the skin away and they were ready to eat.

After this lengthy explanation she said that she was just going to boil them. I was kind of confused to why she was inquiring about the proper technique if she was just going to boil them in the end. I told her it would take about the same amount of time to boil the beets whole… but the flavor would be 100 time better if she roasted them. She said, just the same I think I’m going to boil them.

Not that I mind when people don’t take my culinary advice, but if you’ve already decided your path, why bother inquiring?

Leave a Reply

